## OLYPHANT BOROUGH COUNCIL ORGANIZATION MEETING JANUARY 4, 2022

**Flag Salute:** Mayor John Sedlak welcomes everyone and leads everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance. **Invocation:** Mayor John Sedlak introduced Father Nestor Iwasiw, to give Invocation.

Oath of Office: Mayor John Sedlak introduces Judge Julia Munley to administer the Oath of Office to Mayor Sedlak and Council Persons Elect David Krukovitz, James Baldan, Gerard Tully, Tax Collector Chris Patrick and Controller Robert Hooper upon submission to the Borough Secretary of notarized Affidavits of Residency; Council members of Council take seats.

Mayor Sedlak acts as Chair and convenes the Organization Meeting of Council and appoints John Tomcho as the temporary Secretary of the meeting.

Roll Call: Hudak, Frushon, Tully, Krukovitz, Abda and Baldan were present.

Mayor Sedlak calls for a motion to nominate the President of Council; a motion was made by Tully and seconded by Abda to appoint James Baldan as President; all members assented.

Mayor Sedlak calls for a motion to nominate the Vice-President of Council; a motion was made by Abda and seconded by Frushon to appoint James Baldan as President; all members assented.

Mayor Sedlak vacates the Chair and Council President James Baldan assumes the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

A motion was made by Abda and seconded by Frushon to appoint John Tomcho as the Secretary of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Frushon to appoint Gregory Moskel as the Treasurer of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Hudak and seconded by Tully to appoint C.J. Mustacchio, Esquire as the Manager/Solicitor of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Abda and seconded by Frushon to appoint Louis LaFratte as the Engineer of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Hudak to appoint Alan Kosydar as the Electrical Engineer of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Hudak to appoint James DeVoe as the Chief of Police of Olyphant Borough consistent with the current terms of employment, all members assented. A motion was made by Abda and seconded by Frushon to appoint the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture to act as the certified health inspection agency in order to provide for the issuance of the health Licenses to Business Establishments in the Borough of Olyphant, all members assented. A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Frushon to appoint William Shigo as the Code Enforcement Officer of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Hudak to appoint Thomas Cummings as the Solicitor of the Zoning Hearing Board of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Frushon and seconded by Hudak to appoint A.J. Gilgallon as the

Emergency Management Coordinator of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Krukovitz to appoint James Marcinko as the

Working Foreman of the Department of Public Works of the Borough of Olyphant consistent with the provisions of the Collective Bargaining Agreement, all members assented.

A motion was made by Frushon and seconded by Abda to appoint the Community Bank N.A. as the depository for the funds of Olyphant Borough, all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Hudak to appoint Beth Frushon as Olyphant Borough representative to the Council of Government and Pennsylvania State Association Boroughs, all members assented.

A motion was made by Frushon and seconded by Hudak to appoint James Baldan as the Olyphant Borough representative to the Tax Collection Committee, all members assented.

A motion was made by Abda and seconded by Krukovitz to appoint Chris Patrick Chairman of the

Vacancy Board of the Borough of Olyphant, all members assented. Α motion was made by Hudak and seconded by Abda confirm the 2022 Meeting Schedule for Olyphant Borough Council, Olyphant Borough Light Committee and the Olyphant Borough Planning Commission as has been adopted a prior meeting and advertised as follows: Regular Sessions of Olyphant Borough Council will be held on the first Tuesday of each month at 7:00 P.M.; Light Committee Meetings are held immediately prior to the Regular Sessions of Council at 6:30 P.M.; Work Sessions will be held the second and 1<sup>st</sup> Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 P.M.; Planning Commission Meetings will be held on the last Monday of each month at 6:30 P.M. accept in May 2022 the meeting will be on May 23, 2022 and there will be no Planning Commission meeting in December 2022, all members assented.

Committee Appointments: Department of Public Works Committee: Chairman Tully, Co-Chairmen Krukovitz and Hudak: Sanitary and Storm Water Works Committee: Chairman Krukovitz and Co-Chairwoman Harrington; Electric Department Committee: Chairman Hudak, Co-Chairmen Krukovitz and Abda; Police Liaison Committee: Chairman Abda, Co-Chairman Tully, Co-Chairwoman Harrington; Fire and Ambulance Committee: Chairman Tully, Co-Chairman Krukovitz and Abda; Recreation Committee: Chairwoman Frushon, Co-Chairman Hudak and Co-Chairwoman Harrington; Collective Bargaining /Labor Committee: Chairwoman Frushon, Co-Chairman Tully and Hudak; Budget Committee: Mustacchio; Finance Committee: Chairwoman Harrington, Co-Chairman Krukovitz and Chairwoman Frushon: Flood Committee: Chairman Krukovitz, Co-Chairwoman Harrington and Co-Chairman Abda; Personnel Committee: Chairman Hudak, Co-Chairman Krukovitz and Tully; Municipal Buildings & Ground Improvement Committee: Chairman Tully Co- Chairmen Hudak and Abda; Municipal Event Ceremony Committee: Chairman Hudak, Co-Chairman Krukovitz, Co-Chairwoman Harrington; Infrastructure Committee: Chairman Hudak, Co-Chairwomen Harrington and Frushon. Minutes: A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Abda to approve the minutes from the previous meeting, all members assented.

**Borough Bills:** A motion was made by Krukovitz and seconded by Hudak, to pay the bills when funds are available; all members assented.

**New Business:** A motion was made by Frushon and seconded by Krukovitz to approve the Non-Uniform Contract Extension for 5 years from December 31, 2021; 3% Wage Increase each year of Contract; same employee contribution toward cost of Health Insurance Benefits; reservation of rights of rights of either party to negotiate other items upon agreement to be included the new Collective Bargaining Agreement; all members assented.

A motion was made by Frushon and seconded by Krukovitz to close the Borough Building to general public entry effective January 5, 2022 during regular business hours, entry granted by appointment only and individuals must wear a mask; all members assented.

A motion was made by Tully and seconded by Krukovitz to authorize the newspaper advertisement that all subsequent meetings of Borough Council be held remotely by utilization of the Zoom Platform; all members assented.

A motion was made by Krukovitz and seconded by Tully to approve increased payments to Fire Companies of \$1,300.00 per month, all members assented.

Public Comment: Christine Powell said she had forwarded a letter to Council, asking to consider her to fill a vacancy of one of the Assistant Fire Chiefs; she said Brian Doughton is the sole Assistant Fire Chief and is being spread thin, and asked Council to consider appointing her to assist Doughton with his duties. Krukovitz said he received a lot of compliments regarding the Christmas Decorations.

Baldan announce the next Work Session will be held on January 11, 2022 at 6:30 P.M.

**Adjournment:** A motion was made by Abda and seconded by Krukovitz.

Secretary

John Tomcho